The majority of the links on this site are affiliate links and we earn from qualifying purchases.

Get Notified Of Exclusive Holiday Deals Offered ONLY Thru Our Newsletter.  

Menu

The Best Kids Bike and Family Bike Shops in North America

family bike shop

Finding bike shops that are family-friendly and that carry a good selection of kids bikes can be quite the challenge. If you’re like me, you want to support local bike shops but you also don’t want to buy inferior bikes for your family.

The following list of shops (by state and province) fit some combination of the following criteria:

  • They carry a good selection of high-quality kids bikes and/or kids cycling gear (helmets, jerseys, etc).
  • They carry a good selection of family cycling gear such as cargo bikes, bike seats, trailers, etc.
  • A trade-up program is offered for kids bikes.
  • The shop supports or is active in the development of young riders through development programs, race organization, or family bike rides.
  • The shop is physically welcoming to families and has space for kids and parents via a seating area, toys, books, nursing area, etc.

If you can’t find a good local bike shop in your area, we’ve also included some online bike shops at the end that are small business and deserve your support as well.

Also, note that this list has largely been crowd-sourced. The shops we’ve highlighted are one’s that we personally have been able to verify are awesome. If there’s a shop that you believe should be added, leave a comment below and we’ll get it on the list.


Ad From Our Sponsors (Article continues below….)

U.S. Family Bike Shops

Alabama

Wig’s Wheels – Anniston, AL – http://www.wigswheels.com/

Alaska

Arizona

Bicycle Ranch – Scottsdale, AZ – https://www.bicycleranch.com/

Flagstaff Bicycle Revolution – Flagstaff, AZ –https://flagbikerev.com/

Over the Edge – Sedona, AZ and Fruita, CO – https://otesports.com/

PortaPedal Bike – Tempe, AZ – http://portapedalbike.com/

Transit Cycles – Tucson, AZ –http://www.transitcycles.com

Arkansas

California

3 Ring Cycles -San Anselmo, CA –http://www.3ringcycles.com

A Bicycle Odyssey – Sausalito, CA –http://www.bicycleodyssey.com/

Adams Avenue Bicycles – San Diego, CA –http://www.aabikes.net/

Another Bike Shop – Santa Cruz, CA – http://www.anotherbikeshop.com/

Banker Supply Co – Los Angeles , CA –https://bankersupply.co

Bicycle Outfitter – Los Altos CA – http://www.bicycleoutfitter.com

Breakaway Bikes – Santa Rosa, CA –http://www.breakawaybikes.co

Centripedal Bikes – Fremont, CA – https://www.centripedalbikes.com/

Family Cycling Center – Santa Cruz, CA –http://www.familycycling.com/

Golden Saddle Cyclery –Los Angeles, California –Golden Saddle Cyclery

Huckleberry Bikes – Berkeley, CA and San Francisco, CA –http://www.huckleberrybicycles.com

Hypercat – Ventura, CA –http://www.hypercat.com

Missing Link – Berkeley, CA –http://www.missinglink.org/

Napa River Velo – Napa, CA –http://www.naparivervelo.com

Orange County Bicycle Service & Garage – Laguna Hills, CA –http://www.ocbikegarage.com/

Palo Alto Bicycles – Palo Alto, CA –http://www.paloaltobicycles.com

Pure Fix Cycles – Burbank, California 9-https://www.purecycles.com/

Redding Bicycle Speed Shop -Redding , CA –http://www.reddingbicyclespeedshop.com

Redding Sports – Redding, CA –http://www.reddingsportsltd.net

Roaring Mouse Cycles – San Francisco, CA –http://www.roaringmousecycles.com/ “

SpokesBike Lounge – Berkeley, California –http://www.spokes.bike/

St. Helena Cyclery – Helena, CA –http://sthelenacyclery.com/

Studio Velo31 – Mill Valley, CA –http://www.studiovelocycling.com/

Sunset Cycles –Claremont, CA – http://www.sunsetcycles.bike

The Back Country – Truckee, CA –http://thebackcountry.net

The Family Bike Collective –Berkeley, California – http://www.spokes.bike/

The Hatch: Bicycle & Adventure Workshop – Encinitas, CAhttp://www.thehatch101.com

The New Wheel – Larkspur, CA and San Francisco, CA –https://newwheel.net/


Ad From Our Sponsors (Article continues below….)

Colorado

Bike Shop Girl Family Cyclery - Aurora, CO -  https://www.bikeshopgirl.com/  

2nd Ave Sports – Durango, CO –http://2ndavesports.com/

All Sports Replay – Gunnison, CO – https://www.asrgunnison.com/

Cruiser Boutique – Boulder, CO –http://www.cruiserboutique.com

Front Range Cargo Bikes – Boulder, CO – http://www.frontrangecargobikes.com/

Jinji Cycles – Denver, CO http://jinjicycles.com/

Over The Edge Sports – Fruita, CO –http://www.otesports.com

RideCo Bikeshop – Colorado Springs, CO – http://www.ridecobikeshop.com/

SloHi Bike Co – Denver, CO – http://www.slohibikeco.com/

Vecchios Bicicletteria – Boulder, CO –http://www.vecchios.com/

Connecticut

Bethel Cycle Works – Bethel, Ct – https://www.bethelcycleworks.com/

River Bicycles – Greenwich, CT-http://www.riverbicycles.com/

Tony’s Bikes & Sports – Milford, CT – https://www.tonysbikes.com/

Delaware

Brandywine Bikes – Wilmington, DE – http://www.brandywinebikes.com/us

District of Columbia

Florida

Bikes Plus – Pensacola, FL – https://bikesplus.bike/

JRA Bicycle Company – Ft. Myers – https://justridingalongbikes.wordpress.com/ N

ST PETE BICYCLE & FITNESS, LLC – St. Pertersburg, FL –
https://www.stpetebicycleandfitness.com/

Georgia

Crank ATL Bicycles – Clarkson, Georgia – https://www.crankatlbicycles.com/

Twisted Spokes Bicycles – Johns Creek, Ga – https://shop.twistedspokesbicycles.com/

Outback Bikes INC – Atlanta, GA – https://www.outback-bikes.com/

Hawaii

Idaho

Endurance Boise – Boise, ID – http://www.enduranceboise.com/

Fitzgerald’s Bikes – Victor, ID and Idaho Falls, ID – https://www.fitzgeraldsbicycles.com/

Illinois

2 Bici – Willow Springs, IL –http://2bici.com/

Roscoe Village Cyclery – Chicago, IL –http://www.roscoevillagebikes.com/

Turin Bicycle – Chicago, IL –http://www.turinbicycle.com/

Indiana

Bluegrass Bicycle Company – Brownsburg, IN – http://www.bluegrassbicyclecompany.com/

Pro Bikes, Ltd – Daleville, IN – https://probikesltd.com/

Iowa

Geoff bike and ski Inc – Iowa City, Iowa – https://www.geoffsbikeandski.com/

Kansas

Kentucky

Louisiana

The Bicycle Shop – Baton Rouge, LA – https://www.bicycleshop.com/

Maine

Busytown Bikes – Lewiston, Maine – https://www.facebook.com/Busytown-Bikes-167686653325772/

Maryland

College Park Bicycles –College Park, Maryland –College Park Bicycles

Mt. Airy Bicycles –Mt. Airy, Maryland – Mt. Airy Bicycles

Proteus Bicycles – College Park, MD –http://www.proteusbicycles.com/

Race Pace Bicycles – Columbia, MD and Baltimore, MD –http://racepacebicycles.com/

Massachusetts

Bicycle Belle – Somerville, MA – http://bicyclebelleboston.com/

Seaside Bicycles – Manchester-by-The-Sea, MA –http://www.seasidecycle.com/

Wheel Works – Somerville, MA and Belmont, MA –http://wheelworks.com/

Michigan

Cyclefit – Saginaw, MI and Fenton, MI http://www.cyclefitmultisport.com/

Spin Bicycle Shop – Lansing, MI – http://spinbicycleshop.blogspot.com/

Minnesota

Angry Catfish Bicycle Shop + Coffee Bar – Minneapolis, MN –http://www.angrycatfishbicycle.com

One on One Bicycle Studio inc – Minneapolis, MN –https://www.oneononebike.com/

Mississippi

Missouri

Biscari Brothers Bicycles – Liberty, MO – https://biscaribrothersbicycles.com/

Big Shark Bicycle Company, Inc. – St. Louis, MO www.bigshark.com

Onestar Bicycles – Kansas City, MO –
https://www.facebook.com/pg/onestarbicycles/about/?ref=page_internal

Spokes Cafe/Cyclery – Kansas City, MO – http://www.spokeskc.com/

Volker Bicycles -Kansas City MO –http://www.volkerbicycles.com/

Montana

Flathead Bike Fix –Kalispell, Montana –Flathead Bike Fix

Missoula Bicycle Works – Missoula, MT – http://www.missoulabicycleworks.com/

Nebraska

Nevada

Las Vegas Cyclery – Las Vegas, NV – https://www.lasvegascyclery.com/

Southwest Bikes – Las Vegas, NV – https://www.southwestbikes.com/

New Hampshire

Rhino Bike Works – Plymounth, NH –http://rhinobikeworksnh.com/

New Jersey

Diamond Cycle – Montclair, NJ –

Halter’s Cycles – Skillman, NJ – https://www.halterscycles.com/

Pedal Montclair– Montclair, NJ –http://www.pedalmontclair.com/

New Mexico

Bikeworks Albuquerque -Albuquerque, NM –www.bikeworksabq.com

Broken Spoke Bike Shop – Santa Fe, NM –http://brokenspokesantafe.com/

New York

718 Cyclery – Brooklyn, NY – http://www.718c.com/

City Bicycles NYC – New York NY – http://citybicyclesnyc.com/index.html

North Carolina

Chainheart Cycle – Asheville NC – https://www.facebook.com/pages/Chainheart-Cycling-Studio/114146383243?

Excite Bikes –Locust, North Carolina – Excite Bikes

Motion Makers Bicycles - Asheville, NC -http://www.MotionMakers.com

Seven Stars Cycles – Durham, NC –http://www.sevenstarscycles.com/

North Dakota

Ohio

Black Pug Bike Repair – Yellow Springs, OH – http://blackpugbikes.com/

Stout Cyclery – Findlay, OH – https://www.stoutcyclery.com/

Oklahoma

Oregon

21st Bikes – Portland, OR –http://www.21stbikes.com

Arriving By Bike Transportation Store – Eugene, OR –http://www.arrivingbybike.com

Bicycle Barn – Walla Walla, WA – https://www.bicyclebarn.com/

Bicycle Way of Life – Eugene, OR –

Clever Cycles – Portland OR – http://clevercycles.com/

Crow’s Feet Commons – Bend OR – http://www.crowsfeetcommons.com

Piccadilly Cycles – Ashland, OR – https://www.piccadillycycles.com/

Splendid Cycles – Portland, OR –

Veloce Bicycles – Beaver, OR – http://velocebicycles.com/

Zach’s Bikes – Klamath Falls, OR – http://www.zachsbikes.com/ 


Ad From Our Sponsors (Article continues below….)

Pennsylvania

Freeze Thaw Cycles – State College, PA

The Dutch Wheelman Bicycle Shop – Bloomsburg, PA – http://dutchwheelman.com/

World Cup Ski & Cycle – Camp Hill, PA – https://www.worldcupskiandcycle.com/

Rhode Island

South Carolina

South Dakota

Acme Bicycles – Rapid City, South Dakota –Click For Website

Rushmore Mountain Sports – Spearfish, SD – https://rushmorebikes.com/

Tennessee

Harper’s Bike Shop –Knoxville, Tennessee –Harper’s Bike Shop

The Bikesmith Bike Shop – Memphis, TN –http://www.bikesmithtruck.com/

Texas

B&B Cycles – Cedar Hill, TX – https://www.bbbicycles.com/

Bicycle Sport Shop – Austin, TX –

Mad Duck Cyclery – Grapevine, TX – http://madducksports.com/

Podium Finish Sports – El Paso,TX

Sun Adventure Sports – Amarillo, TX – http://www.sunadventure.com/

Utah

Bingham Cyclery – Salt Lake City, UT and Ogden, UT – https://www.binghamcyclery.com/

Jerk’s Bike Shop – Murray, UT

Sunrise Cyclery – Logan, UT – www.sunrisecyclery.net

Saturday Cycles - Salt Lake City, UT

WaltWorks Custom Bicycles – Park City, UT –http://www.waltworks.com

Virginia

Black Dog Bikes – Staunton, VA –http://blackdogbikes.com/

Blue Ridge Cyclery – Charlottesville, VA – http://blueridgecyclery.com/

NOVA Cycleworks – Bristow, Virginia –http://www.novacycleworks.com

Vermont

Earl’s Cyclery –South Burlington, Vermont – Earl’s Cyclery

The Jay Cloud Cyclery –Montgomery Center, VT – http://www.thejaycloud.com

The Outdoor Gear Exchange – Burlington, VT –https://www.gearx.com/

Washington

Center Cycle – Renton, WA – https://www.centercycle.com/

Downtown Bike – Puyallup, WA – https://www.downtownb.com/

G&O Family Cyclery -Seattle, WA -http://www.familycyclery.com

Outdoor Emporium –Seattle, WA – http://www.sportco.com/

Woodinville Bicycle -Woodinville WA – http://www.woodinvillebicycle.com

Wheel Sport Bicycles – Spokane, WA –

Wild Life Cycles –Eastsound, Washington –Wild Life Cycles

Wisconsin

Backyard Bikes – Whitewater, WI –http://www.backyardbikes.com/

Wheel and Sprocket – Multiple cities –

West Virginia

Blackwater Bikes –Davis, West Virginia –Blackwater Bikes

Wyoming

Pedal House – Laramie, WY – https://www.facebook.com/wehangbikethieves/


Ad From Our Sponsors (Article continues below….)

Canadian Provinces

Alberta

BikeBike Inc. – Calgary, Alberta – https://bikebike.ca/

Calgary Cycle – Calgary, AB – http://www.calgarycycle.com/

Cranky’s Bike Shop – St. Albert, Ab – https://www.crankys.ca/

Creekside Cyclery – Edmonton, AB –

Hardcore Bikes – Edmonton, AB – http://hardcorebikes.ca/

Red Bike – Edmonton, AB – https://www.redbike.ca/

Rebound Cycle – Canmore, AB – http://reboundcycle.com/

Lifesport Calgary – Calgary, Alberta –
https://www.lifesportshop.com/

Pure Cycle – Calgary, AB

British Columbia

Beaufort Cycles – Cumberland, BC – http://beaufortcycles.ca/

Coastal Culture – Whistler, BC – http://www.coastalculturesports.com/

Comor – Vancouver, BC and Whistler, BC – https://comorsports.com/

Goldstream Bicycles – Victoria, BC – https://goldstreambicycles.ca/

Horseshoe Bay Cyclery – Coquitlem, BC

Kissing Crows Cyclery – Vancouver, Bc – http://www.kissingcrowscyclery.com/

North Shore Road Bike – North Victoria, BC http://northshoreroaddbike.com/

Revolution Cycles –Rossland, British Columbia –Revolution Cycles

Velocity Cycles – Langley, British Columbia – http://velocitycycles.ca/

VELOHOLIC CYCLES LTD. – Vancouver, British Columbia – https://veloholiccycles.com/

Village Bikes – Richmond, BC – http://www.village-bikes.ca/

Ontario

Quebec

Adventure 78 Inc – Lachute Quebec – http://damourbicycle.com/content/aventure-78-inc

Espresso Sports – Sainte-Adele, QC –
http://espressosports.net/

Primeau Velo (Laval) – Laval Quebec and Brossard Quebec – https://www.primeauvelo.com/

Saskatchewan

Western Cycle Source for Sports – Regina, Sk – https://www.westerncycle.ca/

The Bike Doctor – Saskatoon, SK – http://www.bikedoctor.ca/

OUTTABOUNDS Saskatoon, SK – http://www.outtabounds.ca/

Yukon

Cadence Cycle Inc – Whitehorse, Yukon – http://cadencecycle.squarespace.com/

Online

Kids Bikes Canadawww.kidsbikescanada.ca

Ready, Set, Pedalhttps://www.readysetpedal.com


4 thoughts on “The Best Kids Bike and Family Bike Shops in North America”

Leave a Comment